top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarla Deale

On the path to healing: Mark’s story



What started out as a love for camaraderie and ‘thinking like a copper’ became what Mark Battersby describes as a decades-long journey back to happiness.


In the November of 1981, a 19-year-old Mark Battersby began his first day at the Academy. He remembers taking a liking to training instantly; everything from the physicality of it, to learning self-defence, law, and “just thinking like a copper”.


Following his 20th birthday, Mark got his first taste of front-line policing in Lilydale. His move over to Russell Street found Mark experiencing another first —the dread of new officers alike— his first fatality.


Tiffany was only 2 years old when she ran out on the roadway. She was killed instantly, in front of both parents; a tragic event a 21-year-old Mark had never seen before.


“The attendance and subsequent reporting chilled me to my bones, and I carried the grief,” he says.


“I started to drink very heavily, but carried on.”


Eventually filling a vacancy at City West, and later Hawthorn, Mark found himself working on dangerous cases that became a threat to his life.


“I was threatened by a mob of violent young men, later threatened with a knife, and saw numerous fatalities, including suicides,” he says.


Fast-forward to 1988 and Mark had secured a vacancy at the police air wing, where he trained to be an observer and air crew. Political errors had him transferred to Mooroolbark in late 1988.


Without having known it, Mark was suffering from complex PTSD and alcoholism.


“In the years I was at Mooroolbark and secondment to Olinda, I attended numerous violent incidents where I had my life threatened,” he says. “There were many more fatalities, including a triple fatality and suicides.”


“I continued to drink heavily to numb the pain and thoughts of what I was experiencing in my police work.”


Late 1995 saw Mark’s unfortunate breakdown.


“I used up all my sick leave, and in May of 1996 I resigned. I went on the dole with three children under 10, and a wife to look after,” he says.


“For the next 20 years I went through waves of depression, anxiety and mania. I lost my wife and my children, and in 2001 I was homeless.”


In the admission into various psychiatric hospitals, Mark says staff “didn’t seem to know what to do” apart from sedating him.


In 2017, Mark’s life began to change.


“In March, I got sober from alcohol with the help of a loving and gracious God, and a few good people,” he says.


“Through a God led program of emotional and spiritual healing, I am now completely healed, and help others with similar issues.”


“I hope that others can find the strength to come forward for help – before it is too late.”


If you or someone you know is struggling with mental health, call Victoria Police Wellbeing Services on 1300 090 995, Mental Health All-hours Support Line on 1800 628 036 or Lifeline Australia on 13 11 14.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page